[XSL-LIST Mailing List Archive Home] [By Thread] [By Date] [Recent Entries] [Reply To This Message]

Re: newbie question: transforming xml to txt with xslt

Subject: Re: newbie question: transforming xml to txt with xslt
Date: Wed, 23 Oct 2002 14:49:07 +0200
xslt transform xml to text
Hello Milena,

milena schrevel wrote:
hi all, i want to exctract certain data from a xml-file, which contains programdetails of several tv channels (see a examle below), and put it into txt-files (for each tv channel one txt-file). the programm should read from the xml file the data starting from 6:00 am of the following day till 5:59 am of the day after that. i am new to xml, xsl/xslt. my question is now, if my problem can be solved with xslt only, or if i need another programminglanguage (which one?) for extracting data according the time? as there are 22 tv channels, i don´t want to write an xsl-file for each of these...is parameterpassing possible with xslt? which tool you would suggest? thanks a lot in advance! any kind of help welcome! regards, milena schrevel

xml-file: ... <RESOURCE id="EVENTLIST_XYZ"> <EVENTLIST originalnetworkid="1" transportstreamid="1089" serviceid="0x2EE3" servicename="XYZ"> <EVENT eventid="0x23BB93"> <STARTTIME country="deu" date="21.09.2002" time="16:00:00" /> <DURATION country="deu" time="01:00" /> <SHORTEVENTDESC language="ger"> <EVENTNAME>News</EVENTNAME> <EVENTTEXT></EVENTTEXT> </SHORTEVENTDESC> <EVENTGENRE genreid="GENRE_0" /> </EVENT> </EVENTLIST> </RESOURCE> ... example of output.txt : xyz 21.09.2002 16:00:00 News

XSL-List info and archive: http://www.mulberrytech.com/xsl/xsl-list

it depends on the XML date structure wether you can handle all with *one* transformation, but guessing you TV channels are all wrapped in a "RESOURCE" element with the given structure the example below may be good enough.

<?xml version="1.0"?>
<xsl:stylesheet xmlns:xsl="http://www.w3.org/1999/XSL/Transform"
                version="1.0">

<xsl:output method="text"/>