[XSL-LIST Mailing List Archive Home] [By Thread] [By Date] [Recent Entries] [Reply To This Message]

Re: sum of price * qty, without node-set()

Subject: Re: sum of price * qty, without node-set()
Date: Wed, 28 Jan 2004 23:09:24 -0500
charles gebhard
At 2004-01-28 19:22 -0800, Charles Gebhard wrote:
i'm a newbie and am trying to get a sum of a calculation; i'm hoping to get the value "162.00".
so, i'd really like to be able to do this in native XSLT 1.0 (without node-set). could someone please point me in the right direction?

Using a recursive-like "walk" of the source node tree, performing calculations at each step of the walk.

seems like it would be really simple.

If you don't mind recursive-like coding.

i've been pounding my head for hours.

I hope the working example demonstrated below provides relief. Note how I start at the first RECEIPT element, initializing the result to zero, then at each RECEIPT I perform the local calculation and update a running result. Then, if there is a sibling, pass this intermediate result to the sibling processing of the closest following sibling, using a mode to ensure other templates in my stylesheet don't interfere. If there is no sibling, return the value calculated so far.

The template calling returns a string, so the variable is initially a text string in a result tree fragment node, that I then cast to a number for other checking and calculations (this has to be done for checking because all result tree fragments test as true).

Note the trick in the variable declaration where I have a leading zero followed by the string calculated by the templates: this way, if there are no RECEIPT elements at all, the string at least contains a zero digit to be converted to a zero result ... otherwise you would get a NaN result.

................. Ken