[XML-DEV Mailing List Archive Home] [By Thread] [By Date] [Recent Entries] [Reply To This Message]

new to xml, looking for comments on our xml/xsl tutorialproject

• To: <xml-dev@l...>
  • Subject: new to xml, looking for comments on our xml/xsl tutorialproject
  • Date: Fri, 04 Jun 2004 11:16:28 -0600

xml xsl doc
Hello all, new to this list and fairly new to XML (my assistant and I have been writing it for about a month).  We are delving into XML and XSL as a means to facilitate what is, for us, an otherwise painful and time consuming process: the production, dissemination, and revision of our tutorials and handouts. Let me give you some background on who I am and what I do, then I will give a summary of what we are doing/trying to do with XML /XSL and you experienced users can comment or criticize our strategy.

PROBLEM
I am an instructional designer for a college and chair our college's faculty training committee.  I also run our faculty center for technology, and produce online tutorials, print tutorials, workshop handouts, etc on a small handful of technologies for three different audiences: faculty, TAs/graders, students.  The technology we spend most of our time on is WebCT, which, for those of you who don't know, is a learning management system--essentially a webserver that hosts course websites with a bunch of built-in tools.  Anyway, as I say I write and teach instructional materials on WebCT for several different audiences, so as an example parts of the contenton the WebCT Mail tool currently lives in 5 incarnations containing variable other content: 1 web tutorial for faculty, 1 web tutorial for students, 1 paper tutorial for faculty, 1 paper workshop handout for faculty, 1 paper tutorial for students.  Since much of the content is the same in all 5 of these documents we decided it would be advantageous to use XML to contain that content, and use XSL to provide the 5 transformations.