[XML-DEV Mailing List Archive Home] [By Thread] [By Date] [Recent Entries] [Reply To This Message]

RE: Help Needed to Design a JDOM Based XML Parser

jdom help
You may have already seen this as it is in an obvious place:

http://www.jdom.org/downloads/docs.html

You'll find links here to Jason Hunter's three part article from Oracle magazine. The first two parts focus on XML parsing. Should help.

Mike
-----Original Message-----
Sent: Tuesday, December 23, 2003 8:33 PM
To: xml-dev@l...
Subject: Help Needed to Design a JDOM Based XML Parser

Hello to all
This is my first ever email to xml-dev and let me admit that i feel myself just a small kid among all experienced and intelligent people. i know that your time is very precious but i would be thankful if somebody could help me start designing an xml parser. your few minutes could be very helpful to me.

I have to design a JDOM based XML Parser. I need a starting point. let me tell you that i am not a professional, am a computing student, having basic knowlege of java programming and little bit of xml. so please treat me accordingly :)

First i would like to concentrate on designing a non validating xml parser (as i think validating one would be far too diff for me..but am not sure). how should i start. what could be the steps towards my goal.

i am pasting what i think i would be doing and i know i am not very clear about my goal so i would be really thankful if somebody could make me clear about all this and guide me a bit so that i could atleast starting walking........Thanks alot
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------