[XML-DEV Mailing List Archive Home] [By Thread] [By Date] [Recent Entries] [Reply To This Message]

RE: Create DB Structure based on Schema/DTD set

• To: "Adolfo Rodriguez" <adolfo@e...>,<xml-dev@l...>
  • Subject: RE: Create DB Structure based on Schema/DTD set
  • Date: Wed, 17 Sep 2003 16:39:00 -0500
  • Cc: <posi0@h...>,"cesar valbuena" <cesar@e...>
  • Importance: normal
  • Priority: normal
  • Thread-index: AcN9PZL5vf7aiKqKSoWczt40MEnEggAJRg1g
  • Thread-topic: Create DB Structure based on Schema/DTD set

create db
Looking at your 'resume.xsd' file, I'm no expert, but there's no single root element defined. After a quick read of your schema i made an very brief complimentary XML doc:

<StructuredXMLResume>
    <ContactInfo>yyy</ContactInfo>
</StructuredXMLResume>
<NonXMLResume>
    <TextResume>zzz</TextResume>
</NonXMLResume>

which - regarless of schema - won't load:

The XML page cannot be displayed

Cannot view XML input using XSL style sheet. Please correct the error and then click the Refresh button, or try again later.

Only one top level element is allowed in an XML document. Error processing resource 'file:///C:/resume.xml'. Line 4, Position 2

<NonXMLResume>
-^

-----Original Message-----
Sent: Wednesday, September 17, 2003 11:56 AM
To: xml-dev@l...
Cc: posi0@h...; cesar valbuena
Subject: Create DB Structure based on Schema/DTD set

Hi all,

I am looking for a way to, from an DTD or XML schema set corresponding to a bussiness model, e.g.:

http://http://www.starstandard.org

http://www.hr-xml.org

create a database structure. My targeted database is my-sql. I have been making tests with XMLSpy (option Create DB Structure based on schema), WSAD (Option generate DDL on right mouse click over a xsd file) and other both, either commercial or open source tools, and none of them was able to create such a database.