[XML-DEV Mailing List Archive Home] [By Thread] [By Date] [Recent Entries] [Reply To This Message]

Re: dtds, schemas, xhtml, and multimedia technologies

vijay polina
Title: Message
Do you work for microsoft R & D?

----- Original Message -----
Sent: Saturday, November 09, 2002 10:50 PM
Subject: dtds, schemas, xhtml, and multimedia technologies

I'm an ex-HTML and ex-Cold Fusion programmer retraining for the future.  I started learning XML technologies and .NET in January 2002 and skipped learning anything about DTDs in favor of learning about Schemas.  However, in reading the last 3 months of the xml-dev posts I find that you all are referring to DTDs a lot in your posts.  Do I need to go back and learn about DTDs?  When will I need to use DTDs instead of Schemas?

I intend to ONLY be in the Microsoft .NET environment and only use C#, ASP.NET, XML (XSLT, XPath, XQuery, SQLXML, Schemas), Microsoft SQL Server 2000 and Access, ADO.NET, web services, Javascript/ECMA and Visual Studio.NET.  I am not using Java and my clients are only running in the Windows 98 or later operating systems, no Unix.  At this point I've got my work cut out just learning the above technologies well, unless you all tell me I need to learn more (what?). 

I also intend to use XHTML wherever possible instead of HTML.  However, it appears to me that Microsoft isn't fully supporting it.  If I remember correctly, one line I wrote in XHTML got "changed" to standard HTML by Visual Studio.NET's editor.  Any comments?  Is XHTML widely supported or do I have to continue using HTML?  I thought standards had moved to favoring XHMTL instead of HTML.